Memory (Poem)

A glitch on a dvd,

Your image

 

            Paused

 

                                    P-p-p-paused,

 

Mouth open,

Tongue pushed against teeth,

Ready to say the words

That will smash my heart

Into a hundred square pixels

 

***

 

Everybody is the hero

In their own blockbuster,

Even you,

With your heart of stone

And your lips

Like two segments of ripening fruit

 

***

 

My finger stabs the play button,

 

                                                  Pixels merge,

                Her voice is broken glass

 

***

 

“I just don’t want you,

 

            I just d-d-don’t want you

           

                                   

                                    I just d-d-d-on’t wa-a-a-a-nt you

 

 

.I just don’t want you to get hurt again.”

 

About breathingglass

Badly written poetry, short fiction and general musings on writing in the twenty first century. At the moment I will try to update daily. Suggestions and constructive criticism welcome. I am not a writer, I just enjoy writing. Influences Poetry: Sylvia Plath, Anne Sexton, Christina Rossetti, Edgar Allan Poe, Robert Browning, Simon Armitage, Carol Ann Duffy, David Constantine, Emile Autumn Fiction: Anne Rice, Sarah Waters, Poppy Z Brite, Angela Carter, Emily Bronte, Edgar Allan Poe, Lewis Carroll, Mervyn Peake, J RR Tolkien, Joe Hill, Phillips Gregory, Katy Towell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment